“John, This Is Getting Away from You”–Listening in on John Sheehan’s Performance Review; New Video from GA Pour-Out

John Sheehan, director of the FDA’s division of plant and dairy food safety.I’d love to be a fly on the wall at the annual performance review of John Sheehan, the head of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s division of plant and dairy food safety,  America’s milk czar. But since the likelihood of that happening is much less than very unlikely, here’s how I’d imagine the conversation between Sheehan and Margaret Hamburg, the FDA commissioner:

Hamburg: So, John, I know you’re in charge of monitoring compliance with the PMO (Pasteurized Milk Ordinance). But all I keep hearing about is raw milk. You said here, in the goals you listed a year ago, that the “raw milk problem” would be on its way to being solved about now, that those “bandit” raw milk producers, as you referred to them, would be on the run, and within another year, raw milk would be nearly a distant memory.

Sheehan: Well, we’re working on it. You know, we did get a guilty plea on Organic Pastures Dairy Co., so it’s not shipping raw milk all over the country any more. That’s a lot of raw milk not going beyond California. We’re shorthanded on staff, as you know, but we have state ag people all over the country paying close attention. We’re telling them they better get on this, or they’ll see a drop in federal funding. Things are moving very well in Wisconsin. The dairy farmers selling raw milk are very much afraid. Kind of like shooting ducks in a barrel, one at a time, the guys out there tell me.

Hamburg: I don’t know, John. Everywhere I turn on the Internet and in the media, it seems there’s something about raw milk, and it’s almost never favorable to our side any more. Why, a couple years ago, it was just one blogger, some guy Gumpert, who seems obsessed about rights, and this Weston A. Price Foundation, which brags about the health claims, talking about it. Now my staffers are bringing me printouts from more and more bloggers focusing on raw milk (she shuffles through a stack of papers), Kim Hartke, David Augenstein, Bob Hayles, Bovine. And it seems like tweets about raw milk are darting around faster than hummingbirds. Cheeseslave, Farm-to-Consumer-Legal Defense Fund, on and on. Why, I see you’re even featured in some crazy book, The Raw Milk Revolution.

Sheehan: It’s all part of the plan, M’am. We’re trying to take a low profile. We don’t want to egg them on, even acknowledge them, give them more credibility than they should have, which is none.

Hamburg: Well, they don’t seem to be taking any notice of your low profile. Now they’re planning some big demonstration at a Wisconsin courthouse December 21, almost on Christmas Eve. And civil disobedience in Georgia.  And a possibly raucus meeting in Framingham, Mass., next week at the local board of health on behalf of some farmer who wants to sell raw milk. I mean, we have a lot of other problems here at FDA, with drug approvals and H1/N1 vaccine, we don’t need people getting worked up over milk. I have to be candid with you, John, and you’re not going to like to hear this, but I have this bad feeling that not only is your plan not working, it’s doing the exact opposite of what you planned. More dairies are selling raw milk because they can’t make money selling milk for pasteurization, and more people are going out of their way to buy raw milk, and I see here, they’re paying sometimes $12 or even $16 a gallon. I mean, they’re willing to pay four or five times the price of milk in the Seven-Eleven or Kroger’s, and the milk isn’t even treated. Jeez, at those prices, I’m almost tempted to get into the business. John, this is getting away from you.

Sheehan: Yes, M’am. I think we need more agents, more budget.

Hamburg: That seems to be the answer I get for every problem around here. You guys must think we just print the money. Well, maybe over at Treasury, but not here. And what about your pals in Michigan, going along with some report that raw milk helps build immunity, and may counter asthma and allergies. I thought we were paying these people good money to cooperate with you.

Sheehan: That Michigan thing was most unfortunate, M’am. They are renegades, turncoats. I don’t even want to talk about it.

Hamburg: John, denial won’t help. We’re paying you to keep this situation under control, and it’s spinning out of control. And now I read about people being arrested in Missouri for selling raw milk in a parking lot after an investigation by undercover agents. John, we’re not the FBI or CIA, this is food we’re talking about.

And there’s some poor woman in South Dakota, (she shuffles through papers), Lila Streff, who wrote this terribly sad letter to some local paper.

I had tears in my eyes after reading her letter. She says your coolies at the South Dakota Department of Agriculture advised her to invest $85,000 to build a nice barn for her goats, so she’d comply with their regulations for producing raw milk. I had one of my staffers call Lila–John, the poor woman is now up to her neck in debt, and is selling maybe 35 gallons of raw milk a week. This isn’t Dean Foods or anything. She went and borrowed all this money, and now they’re trying to add new rules to the state’s dairy laws that would require her to invest thousands more in a bottling machine, and a separate additional new building, and put a wall between her kitchen and the barn. This all came about, she says, after she called the South Dakota Department of Agriculture to find out what the rules were, and they approved her.

Sheehan: Yes, M’am. These small farm people are tricky, they’ll do anything to make a few extra dollars.

Hamburg: It’s not like that, John. The staffer who spoke with Lila said she sounded like an honest farm woman. Didn’t know a lot about the regulatory and legislative process, just wanted to obey the rules, but now she is getting clobbered because she tried to play by the rules. She says she’s become cynical about the system. Says it feels like bait-and-switch to her. I’ll tell you, John, it sounds like bait-and-switch to me, too.

Sheehan: Yes, M’am…I mean, no M’am. We wouldn’t encourage bait-and-switch. This woman just didn’t read all the rules, didn’t investigate carefully enough.

Hamburg: That’s not what I’m told, John. I checked around at the South Dakota Dept of Ag and I was told there’s one guy in the department who is determined to make life difficult for hard-working people like Lila who sell raw milk. Says he wants to pass these new rules before he retires in a couple years.

Sheehan: M’am, we’re doing everything we can to discourage small dairies from producing raw milk. And if we have to move the goal post around a little bit, sometimes we do.

Hamburg: Once again, John, this whole business is making me nervous. I don’t like insurrection. Don’t even like the sound of the word. I have friends of mine in Rockville now telling me they’re drinking raw milk, getting it brought into Maryland from Pennsylvania, and they wonder why we’re spending time on keeping people from eating a basic food. Why the hell are we even worrying about this?

Sheehan: It’s a long story, M’am. Goes back many years. But I’ll tell you my view. It’s for the kids. It’s to keep little children from getting sick.

Hamburg: (Sighs) In that case, John, I’m with you. But you better come up with a better plan for dealing with this…or we may have to move you out of dairy and find a spot for you cleaning up in the monkey labs.

 ***

There’s some interesting new video of the great Georgia raw milk pour-out of last October. It was put together by Kristin Canty, a documentary maker, who’s working on a film about raw milk, “Farmegeddon”. The people being interviewed appear at once to be outraged and stunned by the craziness of the situation—that they were being forced to pour out milk they had already bought an paid for.

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Leave a Reply

30 Comments on "“John, This Is Getting Away from You”–Listening in on John Sheehan’s Performance Review; New Video from GA Pour-Out"


Don Neeper
December 11, 2009

Unfortunately I have a feeling that the raw milk issue isn’t even known or cared about by the people at the very top of the food chain at the FDA, congress or other government agencies in Washington. While there is obvious antipathy towards direct-to-consumer raw milk at the division level, I doubt that their bosses care about it one way or the other.

The Complete Patient
December 11, 2009

I have no doubt you’re absolutely correct, Don. No reason we can’t let our imaginations go every once in a while, imagining what life in the raw milk world might look like with just a slight bit of accountability.

David

Anonymous
December 11, 2009

It is much more likely that the conversation would be in the form of a briefing, and would briefly go something like this:

"Mr. Sheehan, congratulations to you and your staff for the guilty plea to criminal charges of interstate shipment of misbranded raw milk by the dairy in California. Through these actions, we prevent illnesses like the child in the video you showed me suffered."

http://www.marlerblog.com/2009/12/articles/client-videos/e-coli-o157h7-outbreak-linked-to-raw-milk-in-california-in-2006/

Valley dairy pleads guilty in shipping of raw milk
http://www.fresnobee.com/business/story/1092433.html

Concerned Person
December 11, 2009

Considering that people believe there is only a very rare chance of becoming ill from raw milk, Bill Marler sure is busy with clients.

http://www.marlerblog.com/2009/12/articles/legal-cases/raw-milk-e-coli-and-campylobacter-illnesses-a-big-cold-glass-of-reality/

cp

lola granola
December 11, 2009

Lykke,

I have one question for you.

Why do you care – so much – what I choose to eat (i.e. raw milk)?

And please spare me the ‘it’s for the children’ nonsense. That’s only a psychological tactic to place emotion over reason.

And, did you ever answer Bob’s question?

Anonymous
December 11, 2009

lola,

I don’t care what you eat (or what you feed your children). If you sell a product, then "I" do care (speaking for the government and those who hired us). For example, if you want to get salmonella in your home, go ahead. But, if you’re Cargill, or this woman in ND, or anyone else selling a product that makes people sick (especially repeatedly)…well, we do care.

http://barfblog.foodsafety.ksu.edu/2009/12/articles/salmonella/if-you-raise-chickens-maybe-you-shouldnt-cater-food-especially-after-the-court-order-to-stop-because-you-made-people-barf/index.html

lola granola
December 11, 2009

"…speaking for the government and those who hired us."

Does that mean you work for the government? Do you get paid to make comments on blogs like this?

Where in the U.S. Constitution does the government receive its authority to regulate the buying and selling of food?

If I make someone sick from something I’ve sold them, isn’t it for the courts to decide an outcome?

Bob "BubbaBozo" Hayles
December 11, 2009

lola…no he didn’t. He probably forgot it…you know, a result of the chemicals in that nanny state approved food he eats…and wants to cram down our throats.

Lykke, a refresher…where in the constitution is the government given permission to make FORCED decisions for it’s citizens’ food choices for them?

You reveled in my grilling of McAffee over outsourcing…now you get the same sort of grilling EVERY time you post a comment until you either show that the government has constitutional permission, or acknowledge that it doesn’t.

Bob Hayles
http://www.juicymaters.com

EVERY time you contact an elected official remind them, "We don’t work for you. You work for US." (despite what Lykke thinks)

Anonymous
December 11, 2009

Bob,

"Lykke, a refresher…where in the constitution is the government given permission to make FORCED decisions for it’s citizens’ food choices for them?"

The Constitution doesn’t address raw milk rights :) Nor does it talk about global warming, GMOs, or how fast you speed on the freeway. I suppose the Constitution allowed for figuring out these details through the government it created?

lola

"If I make someone sick from something I’ve sold them, isn’t it for the courts to decide an outcome? "

Obviously, that’s one way to approach it.

Blair McMorran
December 11, 2009

David,
I was right there with you – grinning and nodding. Surely, Sheehan is blushing. Or should be. Wait – he gets paid to do this. Wait – who pays him?

I want to thank you for blogging about Lila’s brave efforts and bringing attention to South Dakota’s hypocrisy. What a sham, and can you shed more light? They don’t have much time to build support. She’s written to all the right people but I don’t think enough people are paying enough attention. They picked December 21 for a reason. They don’t think we have a real Christmas spirit. Maybe we don’t. Maybe Max gets better press?

Tonight Ron Keith and I drove up to CSU/Ft. Collins to hear a panel discussion about milk issues – from pasteurized to raw, conventional to organic, grassfed to soybeans. It was sponsored by a student-run org called "HealthOne" – and it was excellent. It was the first time I had attended an open, professional discussion with "both sides" in the same room.

There was an MD, 3 vets (one conventional dairyman, one consultant for Organic Valley CROPPS, and one raw dairywoman), and a PhD in food processing. A couple of sparks but thanks to their collective restraint and respect for each other’s profession, no blue streaks. Overall, the public was educated, some questions were answered, and a lot of seeds were planted.

Our Meg Cattell was the organic dairywoman. She is so articulate, so smart, so able. I wish I could spread her all over. We went thinking that she would be a minority voice, and that we needed to be there to support her, but omigosh – she won the whole crowd over with her smarts, her facts, her logic, and her steadfast respect for her colleagues.

She keeps telling me that this "us vs them" polemic over raw milk has to stop if we’re going to make progress. She wants more science. She can present 3 years of remarkable results of pathogen-free milk, lower cull/cow death/cow mastitis – but she is only one farm – who tests every single batch of milk (with remarkable results!) But she wants to point out why they get these results. She wants to point out that smaller is better, grassfed is best, and she wants money for science to prove it. She understands all the arguments from both sides. She wants us all to speak the same language.

She sits pretty up there in her jean jacket and gorgeous smile and robust energy – with lovely eyes and shiny hair. She speaks as a scientist, with real experience, high intelligence and a fierce optimism.

I tell you, Sheehan hasn’t got a prayer.

Also, appreciate Lykke for being here. I do. I reject his/her authority, but I have to admit Lykke’s contribution to this discussion is essential. CP is another matter – no sensitivity whatsoever and Dave Milano nailed her irrational agenda in his recent post….Thank you Dave!

Oh and Miguel – thanks for the education, again. Keep it coming! It’s what I need to know, bless your teaching heart.
-Blair

Don Neeper
December 11, 2009

An interesting post just showed up on the Raw Dairy Yahoo group. I don’t have any reason to question its veracity and it would be exciting news if true, but I didn’t think that Pennsylvania allowed retail raw milk sales?

———–
Hi everyone,

This is Edwin from The Family Cow. I’ve been silent the last while I know but we have not been idle!…just busy.

I thought all you raw milk enthusiast/activist would appreciate knowing that we have been successful in getting our 100% Organic, Grass-fed, Raw Milk into all of the PA Whole Foods Markets! This is huge! Walk into any of the seven PA Whole Foods Markets, and you will see half gallons and in some stores, gallons of our "Family Cow" raw milk sitting right on the shelf. As far as I know, this is a first for a major grocery store chain in PA.

I have found the Whole Foods people to be cautious but very supportive of Raw Milk. They would not do it unless we agreed to allow a third party audit of our entire farm and procedures, and provided all our back history of our pathogen testing. ‘Coach’, Mark Smallwood, the local buying coordinator for the Mid Atlantic Region especially was an advocate from the beginning, so if you get a chance, put a good word in for ‘Coach’.

Please take the opportunity to thank Whole Foods. It is especially important to get the message to the Dairy Team Leader and tell them how much this means to you. And of course, take the opportunity to get some milk for yourself. Put the empty jug on your shelf as a souvenir of this is bright spot in the history of this civil rights struggle…. the struggle for the freedom to eat!

All the best of Food and Blessings,

Edwin Shank

Shankstead EcoFarm
& The Family Cow LLC
3854 Olde Scotland Rd
Chambersburg PA 17202
717-729-9730
edwin@thefamilycow

Don Wittlinger
December 11, 2009

Don N Pennyslvania does "allow" raw milk to be sold in retail stores Swiss Villa brand is sold at 2 stores that I am aware of one is Sonnewalds near Spring Grove and a farm store 20 miles north of Harrisburg. Swiss Villa had their raw milk pulled from the shelves for a couple of weeks about 10 months ago for usual phantom bad germs threats.

Devon Hernandez
December 11, 2009

Hello! I just wanted to comment on the PA sales thing. As long as the state certified raw milk dairy has the proper license to sell retail, it’s allowed. It’s cost prohibitive though for most small farms. The farm I normally get my raw milk from can’t afford the retail license, so they just have the farm sales license. I live in Lancaster, where raw milk is really gaining serious momentum, and there is a small grocer that opened up recently in town called Expressly Local that only sells local foods, with a few minor exceptions like organic lemons and grapes, but they carry raw milk from Fertile Valley Farm in Myerstown, PA, and also Natural By Nature low-temp pasteurized grass-fed organic milk. I’ve stopped in to get raw milk there a few times recently when I didn’t have time to run down to "my" farm, which is nice and handy, but I still want to support "my" farmer. I might have to take a drive to my closest Whole Foods in Wayne, PA and pick up some raw milk to show some support! That is great news :)

I’ve been lurking for a while, but David I really appreciate this blog – you provide excellent information, and I enjoy reading everyone’s comments.

lola granola
December 12, 2009

Lykke,

You never answered my question – do you work for the government? Put another way, is any portion of your paycheck derived from taxpayer dollars, including grants?

Bob "BubbaBozo" Hayles
December 12, 2009

Lykke, the constitution does not mention raw milk specifically, nor does it mention the other individual item you brought up…on that you are right.

What the constitution and bill of rights DOES do however, is specifically delineate what the federal government can and cannot do. My question to you is, and has been, where in the constitution is the government given the right to make our food decisions for us. What it can do is very specific, and if it has exceeded it’s bounds on other things that doesn’t make it right to exceed it’s bounds on this.

Others can fight for rights on other things. I probably will AFTER this right is allowed. You can only fight so many battles at once, and I’ve chosen this one for me for now.

SO again…where is the federal given the power by the constitution to interfere in this…freedom of food choice and where one gets it?

Bob Hayles
http://www.juicymaters.com

Remember…EVERY time you are in contact with an elected official, remind them, :We don’t work for you. You work for US."

Dave Milano
December 12, 2009

Regarding this:

The Constitution doesn’t address raw milk rights :) Nor does it talk about global warming, GMOs, or how fast you speed on the freeway. I suppose the Constitution allowed for figuring out these details through the government it created?

The role of the constitution is to control how government may proceed on those details to be figured out. My (and others) point is that government has blatantly ignored constitutional restraints and privileged some (usually corporations) while squashing others (usually individuals).

The gifting of human rights (personhood) by government to corporations was the lever that pried open the door, and since then it has been nothing but an accelerating rush of denials of natural human rights in favor of some ostensible greater good, of course defined by whatever entity can pay the most, i.e. corporationsthe bigger the better.

If you cannot see how our laws and regulations have concentrated power into the hands of moneyed interests it is only because you do not want to see it. Certainly there is no clearer evidence than in agribusiness.

Corporations are subsidized for selling diabetes in a box labeled as healthfood, while herdshares are under attack. Do you find that benevolent? A true human association comprised of consenting adults who want nothing more than to drink plain, unprocessed milk (milk!) is smashed, while their money is used to promote deadly food processing. Does our constitution give government the right to do that?

This is not a rhetorical question!

Don Wittlinger
December 12, 2009

Why are those of us that mention the Constitution ignored isn’t that document the rock solid foundation on which WE ALL STAND? Or was the Constitution placed in EXILE in 1934 when the unconstitutional 182 independent regulatory commissions were created?
Jonathan Emord a lawyer that has won more cases against the FDA than any other lawyer in American history tells us how it happened why it happened and who did it. At least listen to the first 15 minutes and he does provide some solutions for us at the end.
http://www.vimeo.com/5803952
I know I posted this before but it is very important for how can we regain what we have lost if we do not even know what has been taken from us ALL.

hugh betcha
December 12, 2009

the solution to big gov’t is at hand. the economy is in shambles, if you don’t think so you’re not looking or you’re only listening to the talking heads on tv. states are bleeding badly, they’re building big debt assuming that the "shop till you drop" mentality will return in force… will it? if you ask me it not only won’t it can’t.

why? debt, no equity in homes, gov’t fiddling with credit laws is forcing industry to raise rates while they can. globalization has failed.

the solution is not to "fix" it and make it like it was. no, the solution is to push it over the edge it’s teetering on. STARVE THE BEAST is the only viable option unless you want true disaster, a real end of everything. starve the beast means go local, starve the beast means do not apply for that county "permit" starve the beast means do not buy just to buy, buy with intent and wisdom about whom you’ll be giving your money too. starve the beast means switch your bank accounts from BOA or citi or PNC or beneficial or wells fargo and open an account at the local bank or credit union. starve the beast means avoid big box stores completely. starve the beast starve the beast.

lyke won’t like it at all, s/he’ll end up unemployed and face having to actually work for a living …

clothing and food do not have sales tax on them…. stock up on both you’ll need those items to get through the rough times ahead. once the beast collapses and if you own a cow or know how to milk one you’ll be in great demand. that should tell you something, the knowledge that without the beast a milk cow is a great asset…. will lyke or cp be in great demand once the beast is dead? ha ha lol….

stock a pantry, buy extra cloths and shoes, own a gun and buy old (melt value) silver coins and maybe a gold coin or two…

or, instead ask lyke or cp if they’ll take care of you should the worst happen. it seems from reading their comments here that both would be more then willing to help… after-all they are both very willing to tell us how we should be living our lives and it’s possible someone won’t have a family cow because of their opinion. for me, i’ll be looking to hold them both personally responsible when the time comes.

good luck to all here over the next year or three we’ll need it…. i’ve lots to get done on the farm here if i hope to be more prepared, meanwhile i’m doing everything possible to STARVE THE BEAST.

Mark McAfee
December 12, 2009

David….awesome, humorous and tragic post.

Hey everyone….things are getting very interesting….read this.

We have just recieved a 400 page FDA lawyer written court document report in our Civil case that is pending to be resolved this spring about our CFR 1240.61 transgressions. We have fully admitted to breaking CFR 1240.61 in the criminal case that was settled last year….as soon as that was settled they attacked with a civil case….not sure why ( infliction of maximum pain I am sure ). But the FDA wants to regulate OPDC inside of CA and that is not going to happen….ever. This is all winding down to be a penalty issue….but I think the FDA has a real problem here….there were no illnesses from OPDC pet food being taken across state lines. The last deaths from milk were at Whittier Farms in MA and that was pastuerized milk not raw….Whittier got zero fines that I can find anywhere. The FDA did not even slap their hand…how can they do anything with OPDC and pet food. So it is much ado about nothing…except it is 400 pages deep. I must have really pissed someone off personally.

The 400 pages hold tons of blogging information from TCP.

So this is where the FDA goes to learn about the Raw Milk Revolution and read what I and everyone else says. So be careful what you say….it may see you again in court.

My congrats to Judge Gumpert for holding "court" and developing the Court of Public Opinion. We now know that the FDA learns and reacts from what we say and do.

This is the greatest news I have heard in years. I have never had the FDA actually stay in the room when I begin a speech and they refuse to attend anything that I attend.

So we can take this opportunity to welcome our friends at the FDA and teach them about the wonders of raw milk. This free speech forum is the perfect place to argue for our summary judgment on this argument about raw milk in these united yet unequal states of America.

Lets all tell our stories of healing and prevention of disease. The FDA has never heard of food actually healing. Dear FDA.,. please understand that pure foods do not have side effects like your million dollar drug approvals. They are food.

Why is it that you claim in your 400 pages about me that I have created a new drug and I am a criminal for pushing food to heal and cure disease. Hipocrates is rolling over in his grave.

You should get some oxygen and perhaps go over to the USDA where they get some soil on their boots. Talk with Vilsack and see what he has to say about "reconnecting to local food and getting to know your farmer".

That is exactly what we in American farming are doing…we can no longer survive the American Commodity game…and have bypassed the corrupt food chain and found our wonderful consumers again. It is has been 75 years since farmers have been paid fully and given a hug by a real mom that cares and loves her dairyman that healed her kids asthma.

FDA….please come back often….the summary judgment is being written as we hold this court of public opinion.

By the way….I am not a crazy bioterrorist.

I am a private pilot and retired paramedic. I worked for the county health department for years as a medical educator. I also worked cooperatively with the UC system and the FDA for a short time after the Odwalla crisis. I am far from crazy….I am far more dangerous than my father ever was….I tell the truth and I am tenacious as hell and care for my consumer.

I am so very glad that I know my enemy. But I would much rather we work together. We could do so much more if we could speak and learn and listen. Michigan is a great example. A working group. what a thought. Ever thought about a FDA raw milk working group that included us dairymen and consumers???

FDA…we are all Americans. I am sure some of you have IBS and have kids with Asthma. Why not try some delicios raw milk and watch it get better. Sure beats the purple pill and cortico steriods that desolve your kids bones and teeth. Your ever hightening suppression of raw milk is back firing. The better route is acknowledgement and setting fair standards. You need to join the discussion before you are very embarrassed by your complete ignorance of the issues. It is time for you to learn from your best scientists and perhaps a farmer or consumer or two. One look at the autism curve and you know that your FDA drugs and advice really suck and kills people….tens of thousands of them per year.

If you really think I am such a bad guy….ask the senate to hold food safety hearings and invite me before the senate to answer to them on what the heck is going on. I would be happy to sit in front of a senate committe next to John Sheehan or even all by myself or with 1000 moms that would insist on backing me and telling their stories of healing for their "used to be sick kids".

So please join us often…,.but please direct your agents CP and Lykke to perhaps be more constructive. This is a place of learning and freedom.

Mark Mcafee
Founder OPDC
FDA most unwanted list
CA Raw Milk most loved list

Amanda Rose
December 13, 2009

Mark,

Does the document refer to that contest held at the Haphazard Gourmet Girls blog? Does it include the picture and entries? If I were writing a 400-page document, I would at least make it humorous.

Amanda

Concerned Person
December 13, 2009

Bill Marler doesnt get all the raw milk business. Whole Foods Market is getting hit hard with lawsuits. This is the case that involved 2 secondary infections.

http://www.courant.com/business/hc-west-hartford-milk1212.artdec12,0,4010557.story

cp

Mark McAfee
December 13, 2009

Dr. Amanda,

I have not actually seen or read the 400 pages yet. All I have gotten is a verbal summary of it from our attorney. He was quite humored by it. It reads like a humorous tragedy according to my best understanding.

If I was an FDA lawyer I would play to the CA Federal Judge and not the science fiction of the sterilized FDA utopia of their dreamy corporate infinite shelf life products and the drugs that take away their signs of illness ( but not the actual illness ) after you are sickened by them. I seriously believe that food regulation should not be anywhere near the FDA and a place that regulates drugs. The USDA should regulate ( organically, fairly, minimally, with size appropriate regs ) our farms and the foods in America…starting with encouraging carbon sequestration crops and whole food nutrition and a "reconnection of the farmer to the consumer". This is a stated USDA policy of Vilsack. I applaud this mission and policy. Vilsack actually visits farms and listens to farmers. Wow!!! Has Sheehan ever had a pair of boots on. Does he know what dirt is??

In other words as shown by the 400 FDA pages… they have drank their own bath water. They really believe that sterile is better and that biodiversity is horrid. They really believe at the top of the political machine at the FDA ( not the scientists at NIH they know far better ) that humans are actually sterile and should not have any bacteria in or on them. They can not reconcile the findings of the Human Biome project or the data that is coming from the massive landslide of human illness and death that has arisen from the Germ Theory and the drugs used to kill off signs and symtops while our immunity is destroyed and we die by the hundreds of thousands per year. A reconciliation would require surrender and listening to the truth of people and scientists that run in conflict with corporations that profit from death and illness. Hospitalization and treatment by a doctor is now the 3rd leading cause of death in America. Add that to our sterile, fake, GMO, Pastuerized, homogenized diets and you have an indictment of the FDA that is supposed to protect and nourish us.

I will have an opportunity to read this ecologically disastrous, global warming, tree killing 400 page document on Monday and I will let you know. I will be sending it to David and we will all bring it to the floor in the court of public opinion held here at TCP. We will see if CP and Lykke drink the FDA bath water as well.

This is truly the indictment of the FDA policies and will be their unraveling. When outrageuos and unfounded FDA statements are made….the Judge and everyone with a few brain cells left will realize that the Emperor is fricken naked.

I will look for the Hap Hazard Gals and see if Martin Sheen, Christen Chessen ( CREMA ), Collene Cassidy ( of Claravale ) and Dean Florez ( CA Senator ) and I made it into the 400 pages of sterile FDA tree killing tragic satire.

What I find interesting is that we had already agreed to a summary judgment and in fact had suggested it to the FDA. Why did they waste our preciuos tax money on 400 pages of unnessesary effort? It could have been two pages….. done!!

I can only reason that they are extremely unhappy and frustrated and needed a catharsis.

My schedule for our "Share the Secret" ( a 1.5 hour raw milk educational outreach program put on by OPDC that provides free raw milk to all that attend and never sells anything ) presentations are filling faster than I can schedule them. The organic raw milk seeds are sprouting and growing like crazy. Dear FDA, please call and arrange one for your staff. I would be very honored to come to your offices and present one for you.

I am sure that you and your families are all suffering just like everyone else in America ( except the raw milk whole food eaters ) and could use some good gut food and a boosted immune system. You can get rid of that Asthma and IBS problem you have…no more drug side effects. Try it out and see if I am a snake oil salesman or a truth teller and whole food deliverer. 65,000 people every week know the truth and you should also. If it was not true…raw milk would die away quietly.

Mark McAfee

Alex Lewin
December 13, 2009

David, that’s awesome. I laughed out loud. You have a backup career as a comedy writer, if you want it!

Question: What’s happening in Framingham? I’m in Cambridge. I can blog and drag friends.

Best
Alex

The Complete Patient
December 13, 2009

Hi Alex,
Thanks for the high praise. Fortunately, or unfortunately, John Sheehan and his cronies at the FDA and around the country provide endless material, though too often it’s in the category of dark humor.

As for the Framingham event, it’s the town board of health hearing on an application by Doug Stephan to obtain a license to sell raw milk from his farm of about 30 cows. He’d be the first farm in west suburban Boston to do so. The hearing is this coming Wednesday evening, 7 p.m., 150 Concord St., (Memorial Building) Blumer Room. It’s actually a continuation of a hearing held in early December, when the board put off ruling. By all means, encourage one and all to attend.

David

David Kendall
December 13, 2009

My daughter lives in Kimberton, PA and has been getting Kimberton Hills Dairy raw milk from Kimberton Whole Foods in Kimberton for a number of years. Kimberton Whole Foods also has stores in Otisville, Douglassville, and Downingtown.

Blair McMorran
December 13, 2009

Mark,
Loved your post (but I predict FDA will slant everything you posted, extract your most extreme statements; paint you as a nutcase…More power to you!.) Can’t wait to read their version of facts – surely they cooked themselves beyond any figment of health …. Stick a fork in them – they are done.

400 pages – you got their attention yessiree! I extend my praises to you!.

________________________________________________________________
Is there real interest in forming a National Raw Milk Association? That concept interests me.

Mr. Gumpert, your blog is truly amazing.
-Blair

Amanda Rose
December 13, 2009

If memory serves, the criminal charges were over the more simple interstate commerce issue. I am guessing that the big boys have arrived now with the health claims charges. OPDC can join Wilderness Family Naturals on one hand and players like Kellogg on the other. If anyone has a similar business, I would either close down after the first warning letter or seriously retool the marketing.

Don Wittlinger
December 14, 2009

DRACONIAN EFSA IS COMIMG TO AMERICA
Nutrition science will be locked out of the market place. But "corporate science" will decide.
Europe Enters a Nutrition Science Dark Age by Attorney Jonathan Emord
http://www.newswithviews.com/Emord/jonathan109.htm
Will there be no choise between the red pill or the blue pill or just their pill? Is the war against raw dairy part of their battle plan? And the Generals at the top could care less about who wins the raw dairy war?

Mark McAfee
December 15, 2009

We are missing the liability point……

The blame should go to Monsanto and other GMO Genetic engineering labs that initially created the ecoli 0157H7 to begin with. It did not appear until they started bombarding ecoli genes and capturing the random genetic sports they wanted for patents.

This is all environmental waste recovery cost. except instead of it being in the soils and waters at an old airforce base it is in our food supply. Play god ( God Move Over- GMO ) and you get horrible results.

Bill Marler must take his next ecoli 0157h7 case to the higher moral level. The real origins of ecoli 0157h7 and the real reason that is triggers shiga toxins only in some of its victums.

Ecoli 0157h7 can be found in grass fed wild deer….this is not an organic farmers problem…it is a national consciuosness problem. We do not have the courage to bring Monsanto and other huge Pharma god players to justice to pay for their lab errors and waste emissions.

I know first hand. I saw and listened to a chief FDA vet ( that had been flow to Sacramento CA ) testify before Dean Florez and swear that their is zero evidence that antibiotics that are fed in animal feed do not cause antibiotic resistance. He said this bold faced and denied the six inches thick of science that sat before the committee. EU has banned antibiotics in feed.

The FDA needs to be added to the next Marler Ecoli 0157H7 lawsuit. Come on Bill you have the guts to go for the grandest glory of all…stopping the creation of new superbugs that are killing the youngest Americans. The FDA and its corporate cronies sit at the thrown of this highly profitable and tragic health debacle.

The very least of the guilt goes to the store or the farmer. There intentions were pure. The intent of the FDA and pharma is greedy evil….driven by billions on NASDAQ.

There is a reason why Wallstreet CORP CEO’s are paid millions per year. Most of them ( not all, there are some awesome good ones out there ) is because they will do the most immoral and un ethical things when they are paid extremely well.

Bill please sue the real oirgins of this disaster or at least name them in the lawsuit and open the dialogue.

Mark McAfee

Concerned Person
December 15, 2009